Friday, June 28, 2013

SR Johannes and her Novelette, Choke

Last Monday, SR Johannes released her newest addition to a growing library of literary accomplishments.

Choke, the second in The Breathless series, is a series of sci-fi novelettes and the sequel to Suffocate.

It is a 20,000 word young adult thriller that combines the dystopic and science fiction genres. The two novelettes will be available on ebook only for only 99 cents!  The 3rd novelette in the series, Exhale, is scheduled for Nov/Dec 2013 just in time for the holidays.

Fans of Wool, Never Ending Sky, Mila, or Across the Universe will love this mini-series.


When Eria escapes her home in the Biome, she uncovers more about her features and specifications as a HumaNot. Following her father's instructions, Eria embarks on a journey into a dangerous and unpredictable world.

Along the way, she encounters a young rebel, Dirk, who explains he's from the Anarchy, an underground human resistance rising up against the BOTs--advanced man-made robots gone wild. Together, Dirk and Eria battle underground serpents, desert dingos, sand storms, and advanced Bots that are always hot on their trail. As they become closer, Dirk reveals his hatred of machines, forcing Eria to hide the secret of what and who she really is.

When the truth of her identity comes out, Eria is forced to become the very thing she hates the most.

SR Johannes is the award-winning author of Amazon Bestselling thriller, Untraceable.

Don't forget to hang out with her on Pinterest, Twitter, Facebook or  blog!

Monday, June 24, 2013

The Thrill of It All, Tara Tyler


Tara Tyler and Heather M. Gardner are sponsoring The Thrill of It All blogfest today. 

In line with their rules, I am posting an excerpt from my current wip, book two of The Magic Withheld:

Darcy gasped. “You know,” she whispered. “How?”
“That you’re a mage?”
She nodded mutely.
“Easy,” Bert said. “I can see the colors.”
“Oh, that’s right. You can’t see them can you. Well, let’s see.” He tipped his head and looked at the swirls over her head with narrowed eyes. The tempo had slowed into lazy arcs now. “You are proficient in Water. That’s the red. The blue is Air. And that sparkly stuff looking like tinsel from an old-style Christmas tree means you got a smidge of Spirit.”
“You’re human.” Her eyes shifted and she lowered her voice. “You can’t see magic.”
“Funny how that keeps popping up,” he said cheerfully.

This is its first outing. Like a baby in a carriage, it isn't exactly potty trained yet but so far the storyline is writing itself.

Check out the blogfest over at Tara's house and help celebrate her book, Pop Travel, coming out in July.

Thursday, June 20, 2013

Pop Travel, It's the way to go

It takes over seven hours to fly between New York City and Paris.

How would you like to do it in five minutes? Sounds great, right? The newest way to travel is here, teleportation via Pop Travel. Sign up, buy a ticket, and hello, Eiffel Tower.

But you better read the fine print. It’s a killer.

My blogger buddy and most excellent friend Tara Tyler has a book coming out in July called (oddly enough) Pop Travel, a sci-fi thriller sure to please. Tara and fellow writer, Heather M. Gardner author of Maguire’s Corner, are hosting a blogfest, Monday June 24.

from Love to Sci Fi ...

The Thrill of it All blogfest!

Thrills come in all genres. Heather has some intense love scene thrills in MAGUIRE'S CORNER and I have some cool chase scene thrills in POP TRAVEL. And some people do thrilling things, like mountain climbing.

On June 24th, share a big thrill with us to be entered into The Thrill of it All blogfest contest! We will judge the biggest thrills and give out some thrilling prizes. Entries may be real or fiction. All we ask is that you keep them to a paragraph or so.

Here's my example:
In POP TRAVEL, everyone loves to pop. Not Cooper. Though he won't admit it, Cooper was afraid of it even before he found evidence of a disintegrated traveler. Now he's terrified and he must face his fear, popping all over the world to escape those trying to keep him from exposing pop travel's deadly flaw.

Prizes? Did I say prizes? Why yes, there will be prizes... And they will be super, fantastic prizes -
1) A copy of MAGUIRE'S CORNER, ebook
2) An ARC copy of POP TRAVEL
3) A $20 Amazon GC
4) A banner or caricature by moi (or substitute if the winner has another need)

So mark us on your calendar, sign up on the linky list below, and grab our button... THRILL US! I dare you!

Sounds great doesn't it?

Monday, June 17, 2013

Ellie Garratt and Taking Time

Cover Reveal for Ellie Garratt

Taking Time and Other Science Fiction Stories

Science fiction stories of time and space...

The future of humanity must be decided in Next Phase.
Winning the Planetary Lottery is not as lucky as it first seems in Schrodinger's Gamble.
An apocalypse and its aftermath threaten to tear one couple apart in Daiker's Children.
In Life As I Know It a reclusive man finds both his heart and home invaded during an alien harvest.
In Taking Time a demon seeking shelter on a distant planet finds himself facing a very different kind of demon, after answering a frontier settlement's plea for help.

Stories range from flash fiction to novelette in length.

Publication date: 15th July 2013

About The Author

A life-long addiction to reading science fiction and horror, meant writing was the logical outlet for Ellie Garratt’s passions. She is a reader, writer, blogger, Trekkie, and would happily die to be an extra in The Walking Dead. Her short stories have been published in anthologies and online. Passing Time: Nine Short Tales of the Strange and Macabre was published in March 2013 and contains nine previously published stories. Her first nine-part science fiction serial will start in September 2013.

Author Links

Monday, June 10, 2013

I Forgot That Happens

Last week The Onion published an article by George R.R. Martin, author of the Game of Thrones series. 

To read, go here. The title is Oh Shit, I Totally Forgot That Happens.

(Now yes, this is The Onion and I know they are wall-to-wall satire sometimes. I mean, they even duped the North Korean leader, Kim Jong-un into thinking he was the “sexist man alive.” Yeah, I know. I was shocked the article was satire also.)

In the article, Mr. Martin speaks about the TV series and his books. He was shocked when certain main characters took a turn for the worse last week. He’d forgotten that he wrote these scenes in his book.

So how can this happen? How can an author forget their own world?
I've gone back and read things I wrote several years ago, fell into the story and wondered the same thing. Like where did this come from. And how does it end?

Wouldn't you think, as the author, that I'd remember?

Well apparently, if the article in The Onion only a little bit true, I am not the only one.

Have you written scenes that surprised the heck out of you later?

Friday, June 7, 2013

Delirium, Debt Collector 1

"What’s your life worth on the open market? A debt collector can tell you precisely."

A good story is like a peanut butter and honey sandwich. It sticks to you.

Delirium, Debt Collector 1 is just such a story.

Fast paced and emotional, this story yanks you in and won’t let go until the end. The conflict and world building is so real that it captured me right off. An excellent place to be.

I stepped over the threshold and into Susan Kaye Quinn’s world, a place where a human’s life force is collected, spent, and used like a drug. An underworld of intrigue, dirty dealings, and a mystery caused me to forget where I was for a while.

With her excellent writing to accompany a roller coaster ride of a book, I would use Ms. Quinn as a means to judge all other novels.

Do not pass this one by. Highly recommend.

Tuesday, June 4, 2013

When Friends Make it Big

One of my dearest friends made the news yesterday with this announcement:

Wido Publishing signs Marcy Hatch for Debut Novel

Seriously, can it get any better than that?

We met in 2010, swapped manuscripts, and cemented an everlasting bond. With Charity Bradford, we created and developed the critique site UnicornBell, a place for everyone wanting to further their writerly education. From new writers just starting their career to published authors. In short, to everyone wanting to live their dreams.

Marcy honored me twice. Once by critiquing my manuscripts and second when she allowed me to read hers.

Big time Congrats to Marcy!

Monday, June 3, 2013

How to Create Magic

When creativity hits, it can take over your morning, your day, your Life. It's getting the ball rolling that can be difficult.

Photos help me. Dramatic, thought-provoking pictures that rev my creative motors.
This is a wall cloud hanging over Maryville Mo, population 10,000. It threatened but didn't drop a funnel. Thank Goodness.

Do you find that even at times like this, we writers see things differently? We exploit our experiences to make a written scene live.

Writing prompts are a means to an end also. You can start with a sentence and build it into an amusing little ditty. Witness UnicornBell, our critique site last week.

What kicks you into gear? Music? Photos? Scary weather?

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...